The Kansas Emergency Medical Technicians Association (KEMTA) has a long history dating back to the early 1970's when the organization began at the Kansas Ambulance & Rescue Association (KARA) with Larry Joy as the first President in 1973. KARA continued until 1978 when the organization underwent a change and became known as KEMTA with Jim Emrick serving the first two-year term as President of the new organization. KEMTA continues this tradition today as the longest active EMS association in Kansas. The organization strives to provide EMS providers throughout Kansas with quality education and representation with the common goal of serving our fellow human beings in their time of need. Working together we are improving our profession in all aspects by sharing our problems, successes, and new ideas.

KEMTA is made up of members all across Kansas and other states including Nebraska & Minnesota. The organization is represented by a Board of Directors made up of a President, Past-President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, one member from each of the six EMS regions in Kansas, and three at-large members. These representatives serve bi-annual terms with elections occurring annually during the State conference. The great thing about KEMTA is that any active or associate member is eligible to hold office. All members are welcome and encouraged to attend meeting of the Board of Directors.